Into the Fire

Into the Fire2018-12-07T13:30:46+00:00

Project Description

Into the Fire Sonia Orchard

Pre-order the book

COMING SOON!

Into the Fire

by Sonia Orchard

A year after her best friend died in a house fire, Lara can’t come to terms with the loss. Logic says there was no more she could have done to save the mercurial and unhappy Alice, but Lara can’t escape the feeling that she is somehow to blame for the tragedy.

She spends a weekend at the rebuilt house with Alice’s charismatic widower, Crow, and his three young children. Rummaging through the remains of their shared past, Lara reveals a friendship with Alice that was as troubled as it was intense. But beneath the surface is a darker, more unsettling secret waiting to be exposed.

Through exquisite prose and searing insight, Into the Fire explores the many ways, small and large, we betray one another and our ideals. It’s a compelling story about power, guilt and womanhood from an outstanding voice in Australian fiction.

Praise

‘A perceptive, provoking story of friendship and intimacy. I loved it.’ Rosalie Ham

‘Smart, heartbreaking and richly rewarding.’ Jacinta Halloran

‘Orchard is an astute observer of long friendships, their binds, their blind loyalties, their casual betrayals.’ Kristina Olsson

‘A timely and necessary book.’ Julienne van Loon

‘Heartbreaking: long after the final pages, Orchard had me sifting through the embers to find what was left of friendship and loyalty.’ Cassandra Austin

‘Perhaps what’s most intriguing about this story is the sharp commentary on gender politics, comparing our university-age selves to our mid-career selves, and the subtle power of gaslighting. Into the Fire will appeal to fans of Emily Maguire, Zoë Heller and Sofie Laguna.’ Books + Publishing magazine

About the Author

29 January 2019
RRP: $29.99
ISBN: 9781925712827
Paperback, 288 pages
234 x 153 mm
Fiction

For media enquiries please contact:
Grace Breen
Publicity and Marketing Manager
T: (03) 8695 9619
E:[email protected]