Christian White became Australia’s publishing success story last year when his award-winning thriller, The Nowhere Child, became the fastest-selling Australian debut novel on record. He returns on 24 September with his highly anticipated follow-up, The Wife and the Widow, another cracking thriller with a twist that will make you want to read the whole book over again just for fun.

But don’t just take our word for it: read on to find out how Australia’s booksellers reacted to The Wife and the Widow, and check out Christian’s tour dates for an author visit near you.

‘I’m calling it. This is even better than The Nowhere Child.’ Fiona Hardy, Readings Carlton

‘Loved, loved, loved this book. Was on the edge of my seat for the two days it took to read. Better watch your back, Jane Harper!’ Diane Ingwersen, Beechworth Books

‘Wow! I absolutely LOVED it! I couldn’t put it down.’ Grace Wilson, Dymocks Category Manager

‘This book is another page-turner that I couldn’t put down and that late twist far out! I was racing through the pages trying to figure it all out.’ Suzanne Steinbruckner, Readings Carlton

‘We loved The Nowhere Child, it became one of the biggest books of 2018 and well … now Christian White has gone and bested himself with The Wife and the Widow. WELL AND TRULY. If you can guess the ending of this book, you deserve a bloody medal!’ Michaelie Clark, Collins Warrnambool

‘A brilliant second novel, The Wife and the Widow will toy with your mind long after the final page.’ Deborah Crabtree, Readings Carlton

‘I LOVED it. About 30 pages from the end I worked out what was happening and gave myself a smack over the head for not realising. I read a lot of crime fiction, but I didn’t pick it earlier – it’s so clever and so well written. This I believe is even better that The Nowhere Child and I will be putting a copy in to EVERYONE’s hand before they leave the shop.’ Lois Gaskin, Turn the Page

‘My initial impression from the first half was that Christian had taken his writing up another level, just in terms of tone, speed, structure etc., but I was completely blown away by the second half. This is the thriller with that twist that will have other authors green with envy!’ Anne Gott, Devonport Bookshop

‘I am reading The Wife and the Widow at the moment, and I’m quite annoyed that I am so busy at work – I just need to go and find out what is going on in this book!’ Kat Kelly-Kobes, Dymocks Camberwell

‘It is rare for an author’s second novel to live up to expectations, but White has done even better the second time around. The Wife and the Widow had me hooked right from the start.’ Sharon Peterson, Readings St Kilda

‘Given how compulsively readable The Nowhere Child was, claims that The Wife and the Widow is even better will likely be met with scepticism, but for me this is an even more accomplished follow-up. A gut-punch twist no one will see coming, a plot that hooks from the very first page, and a conclusion that will leave readers breathless. The Wife and the Widow cannot be missed.’ J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

EVENTS

Click through for details

Wednesday 25 September
Bookface with Port Macquarie Library, NSW

Wednesday 25 September
Harry Hartog Westfield Kotara, NSW

Thursday 26 September
Official launch, Farrells Bookshop Mornington, VIC

Monday 30 September
Readings Carlton, VIC

Wednesday 2 October
Success Public Library, WA

Thursday 3 October
St Aidan’s Community Centre, WA

Tuesday 8 October
Dymocks Waurn Ponds, VIC

Wednesday 9 October
Petrarch’s Bookshop, TAS

Thursday 10 October
Devonport Books with Devonport Library, TAS

Friday 11 October
Fullers Bookshop, TAS

Wednesday 16 October
Bookface Erina Fair with Erina Library, NSW

Thursday 17 October
Bekelouw Balgowlah with Manly Library, NSW

Friday 18 October
Bookface Gungahlin, ACT

Saturday 19 October
Edgar’s Books, VIC

Tuesday 22 October
Geelong Library, VIC

Wednesday 23 October
Eltham Bookshop, VIC

Thursday 24 October
The Sun Bookshop, VIC

Wednesday 30 October
Dymocks Camberwell at Infuse restaurant, VIC

Thursday 31 October
Dymocks Brisbane, QLD

Saturday 2 November
Avid Reader, QLD

Wednesday 6 November
Matilda Bookshop with Burnside Library, SA

Thursday 7 November
Barossa Library, SA

Wednesday 13 November
Ulysses Bookstore, VIC

Thursday 14 November
Leaf Bookshop, VIC

Saturday 16 November
Stonnington Library, VIC

Thursday 28 November
The Grumpy Swimmer, VIC

Saturday 4 January
Great Escape Books, VIC

Thursday 6 February
Cronulla Library, NSW